The Meredith collection documents the life and work of one of Connecticut College's most eminent faculty members and one of the nation's most respected poets. The William Meredith Papers at Connecticut College consist of letters, drafts, and speeches, together with papers relating to many organizations with which Meredith has been associated. These include the Library of Congress, the Academy of American Poets, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Connecticut College, Princeton University, Yaddo, the National Institute of Arts and Letters, the Bread Loaf Writer's Conference, cultural and governmental agencies in Bulgaria, and the Estate of W. H. Auden.

The papers were acquired by Connecticut College in 1994, and are located in the Special Collections department of the Charles E. Shain Library. One may consult the collection by arrangement with the Special Collections Librarian. The Library also has a virtually complete collection of Meredith's published work, including many of the anthologies and issues of literary journals in which individual poems have been published or reprinted. The book collection also includes presentation copies of Frost's poetry given to Meredith by the author, several with inscriptions and holograph poems.

The William Meredith Papers contain letters from the following people. A selection of letters is available for review.

Dannie and Joan Abse
A.R. Ammons
Hannah Arendt
John Balaban
James Baldwin
John Barth
Donald Barthelme
Saul Bellow
John Berryman
Katherine Biddle
Elizabeth Bishop
Philip Booth
John Malcolm Brinnin
Cleanth Brooks
Gwendolyn Brooks
Frederick Buechner
Stanley Burnshaw
Henry Chapin
Mary Cheever
John Ciardi
Bill Clinton
Robert Coles
Michael Collier
Malcolm Cowley
Louis Coxe
William Davenport
Peter Davison
Norman Dello Joio
James Dickey
Elizabeth Drew
Alan Dugan
David Dwyer
Richard Eberhart
Ralph Ellison
David Ferry
David Fisher
Lukas Foss
Claude Fredericks
Anne Fremantle
Brendan Galvin
George Garrett
Reginald Gibbons
Margaret Gibson
Sidney Goldfarb
William Goldman
Gary Gildner
Moses Hadas
Donald Hall
Jules Hallum
Elizabeth Hardwick
Michael Harper
Seamus Heaney
Anthony Hecht
Lillian Hellman
John Hersey
William Heyen
Daniel Hoffman
Cecelia Holland
John Hollander
Richard Howard
Barbara Howes
David Ignatow
John Irving
David Jackson
Josephine Jacobsen
Mary Jarrell
Randall Jarrell
Gayl Jones
June Jordan
Donald Justice
X.J. Kennedy
Galway Kinnell
Lincoln Kirstein
Carolyn Kizer
Maxine Kumin
Stanley Kunitz
Denise Levertov
Romulus Linney
Robert Lowell
Archibald MacLeish
Clarence Major
Gerard Malanga
Eve Merriam
James Merrill
George Martin
James Martin
William Maxwell
David McKain
W.S. Merwin
Frederick Morgan
Kathleen Morrison
S.F. Morse
Howard Moss
Howard Nemerov
John Frederick Nims
L. B. Noll
Tim O'Brien
Norman Holmes Pearson
Robert Pinsky
Alan Pryce-Jones
Alexis Rannit
John Crowe Ransom
David Ray
Shreela Ray
F.D. Reeve
Helen Reeve
Tim Reynolds
Adrienne Rich
Hyman Rickover
Michael Ridgway
Jeremy Robson
Helga Sandburg
Reginald Saner
Karl Shapiro
Louis Simpson
Elizabeth Munro Smith
William Jay Smith
Barry Spacks
W. D. Snodgrass
Barry Spacks
Stephen Spender
Francis Steegmuller
Mark Strand
Dabney Stuart
William Styron
Robert Sward
May Swenson
Peter Tempest
Randall Thompson
Harold Tinkle
Phyllis Tinkle
Diana Trilling
Lionel Trilling
Lewis Turco
Lee Udall
Stewart Udall
Lewis Untermeyer
John Updike
Mark Van Doren
Mona Van Duyn
Gore Vidal
Kurt Vonnegut
Diane Wakowski
Alice Walker
David Walker
Robert Penn Warren
Rosanna Warren
William Weaver
Jim Weil
Glenway Wescott
Reed Whittemore
Richard Wilbur
Miller Williams